Home » Other » Training & Certification » good intro book for sql server developer?
good intro book for sql server developer? [message #299399] Mon, 11 February 2008 18:53 Go to next message
aozm
Hi,

I have extensive experience in using t-sql and SQL Server 2000/2005. But I have not used Oracle or PL/SQL before and am about to start a job that uses Oracle. I believe the SQL is relatively the same, and I will have to adjust my syntax somewhat. I was looking for a good book or two to read before starting - any suggestions? Maybe something specific to PL/SQL, even if it's just a good reference book that people recommend (as opposed to a tutorial type book).

Also, something in terms of more general Oracle environment - I'm used to Enterprise Manager, Query Analyzer, etc. Is there a good book that will help me learn what the equivilent in Oracle is?

I'd be open to good web sites as well, but would prefer a book so that I can read it away from the computer.

Thanks in advance!

Re: good intro book for sql server developer? [message #299400 is a reply to message #299399] Mon, 11 February 2008 19:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
I suggest that you take the time to read the Oracle Concepts Manual.
While SQL may be similar between MS & Oracle; the underlying database engines behave drastically different.

The whole Oracle Documentation set can be found at http://tahiti.oracle.com

Re: good intro book for sql server developer? [message #299401 is a reply to message #299399] Mon, 11 February 2008 19:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran
Account Moderator
Books:
1) Oracle documentation: If you are into Oracle, at some point you need to refer to
Oracle documenation. I agree it is vast. But it is the right place to start.
My Desktop reference and only book I used for quite a long time (or until the authors following
published their work).
2) Commercial Books: There is a whole array of books in market. I personally liked books by