Home » Other » Training & Certification » Index (oracle 10g rel2 ,Windows server 2003 Enterprise Edition)
Index [message #280107] Mon, 12 November 2007 08:52 Go to next message
foreigndba
Hellow

I'm a assistant oracle DBA.Last 1 year I worked on 10g.

I created a tablespace for primary key index.I placed another location for primary key index.
Now I create another 3 indexes that need to faster serching data.

1.My question is what is the difference between primary key index and others index?.
2.Does this primary key index need to another tablespace?
3.Does this primary index faster ?(I know oracle automatically create index for primary key,can I get extra benefit)
4.How shall I use these index?

Please Help me ,I'm trying to solve but I could not understand how to use index appropritely.

Re: Index [message #280114 is a reply to message #280107] Mon, 12 November 2007 09:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
pablolee
1. a)There is no such thing as a Primary key index. There is an index on a Primary key.
b) here is no such thing as an others index. Can you please be more specific in what you mean.
2. I'm going to guess a little here, I think you are asking if you need to put an index that is on a primary key in a different tablespace. No.
3. Faster than what? Are you asking if the index will be built faster? Will alow faster searching... something else, sorry I'm really not sure what you mean.
4. You don't use the index, Oracle uses the index as a when Oracle believes it would be appropriate.

As a DBA of a year, I'm assuming that you know where to get the documentation. I strongly advise you to read the Concepts guide and the DBA reference.
Re: Index [message #280402 is a reply to message #280107] Tue, 13 November 2007 07:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
foreigndba
Hello

Thanks pablolee.I'm not good in English.sorry, I could not understand you what I want to know.

I create a user(sky).There are 200 tables in this schema.40 tables are master table.