Home » Other » Client Tools » Executing a procedure which has a cursor as an 'OUT' parameter
Executing a procedure which has a cursor as an 'OUT' parameter [message #249107] Tue, 03 July 2007 07:15 Go to next message
hannah.kamali
Hi All,

I am trying to call a certain procedure which has a cursor as an 'OUT' parameter in the following manner:

DECLARE
FLID NUMBER;
SEARCH_RESULTS REF CURSOR;
ERR_CODE NUMBER;
ERR_MSG VARCHAR2(200);

BEGIN
FLID := NULL;
ERR_CODE := NULL;
ERR_MSG := NULL;

PACKAGE_NAME.PROCEDURE_NAME( FLID,
SEARCH_RESULTS, ERR_CODE, ERR_MSG );
COMMIT;
END;

But I get the error message as "PLS-00201: identifier 'CURSOR' must be declared". But it is clearly evident that I am defining the cursor here.

I am pretty new to PL/SQL, so senior folks, please help!
Re: Executing a procedure which has a cursor as an 'OUT' parameter [message #249113 is a reply to message #249107] Tue, 03 July 2007 07:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank
Welcome to the board and welcome to the world of Oracle!

"ref cursor" is not a datatype you can use like that in pl/sql.
If you search the documentation at tahiti.oracle.com for "ref cursor" you will no doubt find good examples on how to do this.
Re: Executing a procedure which has a cursor as an 'OUT' parameter [message #249116 is a reply to message #249113] Tue, 03 July 2007 07:40 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Maaher
Just to add a little extra info: if you do a describe of the package, you will see the exact data type of the parameters in the procedure.

MHE
Re: Executing a procedure which has a cursor as an 'OUT' parameter [message #249119 is a reply to message #249113] Tue, 03 July 2007 07:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
hannah.kamali
Frank,

Thanks for your quick turn-around..
I will graze over the documentation and see if I can get a solution..