Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » Testing performance tweaks
Testing performance tweaks [message #216022] Wed, 24 January 2007 12:52 Go to next message
sournote1
I am new at this so bear with me. I have a slow query I would like to speed up, and have been reading up on performance and query tuning and have several ideas to try out. But when I try them, it is hard to measure their effect, since the query times vary so widely.

What I would like to do is run the original, then run a tweaked version, and compare the execution times. I'd really like to run them alternately for five or ten cycles, to control for varying DB load. But caching causes all test runs after the first to be dramatically faster. I'm having to wait 24 hours to get my next meaningful execution time. And when I do that with the original untweaked query, the results vary by a factor of two or three from one repetition to the next, presumably because of varying load. If a tweak improved performance by 50% I might never know it because the repeatability of the test is so poor.

Is there some other way to compare the performance of the original and tweaked query? I have looked at the execution plans, but I have read that the values there are relative and not absolute. Are they valid for comparisons between queries?

What gets cached? The indexes, the execution plan, the data?

Is there a way to clear the cache?

Is there a way to specify that the query be run without using the cache?

Any advice would be appreciated.

This is Oracle 9i Enterprise, Release 9.2.0.6.0

Thanks in advance.
Re: Testing performance tweaks [message #216024 is a reply to message #216022] Wed, 24 January 2007 12:55 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran
Account Moderator
You can use 10046 event based tracing.
But to start with, Runstats would be handy
http://asktom.oracle.com/tkyte/runstats.html