Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Best Indexing Practices??..
Best Indexing Practices??.. [message #19937] Fri, 19 April 2002 05:55 Go to next message
Kalpa
I am not good with indexing :)
i have a query like this below, where
cisid is a FK, carrierkey is FK (so when i am querying using any of those columns the results are faster. but how they can query is using any combinations from CISID,CARRIERKEY,CLAIMTYPEDESCRIPTION,FORMTYPEDESCRIPTION,TRANSMITDESCRIPTION,SERVICESTATE. So when they are not selecting any of these FK's the query is awefully slow..
So what is the best way to index the columns, so that it is fast. Also what are the other factors that will positively effect performance?

I have tried
CISID A,
CARRIERKEY B,
CLAIMTYPEDESCRIPTION C,
FORMTYPEDESCRIPTION D,
TRANSMITDESCRIPTION E,
SERVICESTATE F.

ABC, BCD,CDE,DEF,ACD and so on..
i also tried, AB, BC,CD,EF and so on..

it improved the performance by a little bit but not a whole lot.
Any help is greatly appreciated..

My QUERY:
select to_char(b.deposittime,'DD-MON-YYYY') as dummiedate,
a.cisid as cid,
c.carrierkey as ckey,
d.claimtypedescription as clmtype,
e.formtypedescription as ftype,
f.transmitdescription as tdesc,
g.servicestate as state,
count(*) as clmcnt,
TO_CHAR(sum(b.totalamount/100),'L999G999G999G999D99MI') as clmamt
from tbl_providercisidref a, tbl_claimshistory b, tbl_payercarrierref c, tbl_claimtyperef d, tbl_formtyperef e, tbl_transmittyperef f, tbl_servicestateterritoryref g
where
b.deposittime >= to_timestamp(i_startdate,'DD-MON-YYYY')
and b.deposittime < to_timestamp(i_enddate,'DD-MON-YYYY') + 1
and b.cisid = a.cisid
and b.cisid = i_cisid
and b.carrierkey = c.carrierkey
and b.carrierkey = upper(i_ckey)
and b.claimtype = d.claimtype
and b.claimtype = i_lob
and b.formtype = e.formtype
and b.formtype = i_clmtype
and b.transmittype = f.transmittype
and b.transmittype = i_xmttype
and b.servicestate = g.servicestate
and b.servicestate = i_state
and b.billcode = '0'