Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » From staging tables to datamart table -- how?
From staging tables to datamart table -- how? [message #188317] Thu, 17 August 2006 23:27 Go to next message
a_developer
I have a very big problem here..

I have 6 staging tables. Each table has data for 6 months starting from Jan 2003.
- TabStage1 has data for Jan2003 to Jun2003
- TabStage2 has data for Jul2003 to Dec2003
- TabStage3 has data for Jan2004 to Jun2004
- TabStage4 has data for Jul2004 to Dec2004
- TabStage5 has data for Jan2005 to Jun2005
- TabStage6 has data for Jul2005 to Dec2005

I have a data mart table, TabMaster, into which I have to load all these (plus a join on some other tables). This table should be partitioned by month. I cannot load all 6 tables at the same time as it will heavily load the database. Now, this is what I am thinking:

1. Create a temporary partitioned master table for each staging table:
   Create table TabMaster1 (partitioned monthly from Jan2004 to Jun2003) 
     as Select from TabStage1, <SomeTable1, SomeTable2>..

Create table TabMaster2 (partitioned monthly from Jul2004 to Dec2003) 
     as Select from TabStage2, <SomeTable1, SomeTable2>..

Create table TabMaster6 (partitioned monthly from Jul2005 to Dec2005) 
     as Select from TabStage6, <SomeTable1, SomeTable2>..

2. Create the real master table by adding the partitions from the temporary master tables:
   Create table TabMaster
    (exchange partition / move partition from TabMaster1, TabMaster2..TabMaster6);

-- By the way, is this possible? If so, can you please let me know as I am not familiar with partition operations?

Is this a proper approach?? I would very much appreciate any feedback/suggestions as this problem is eating my head.. (and I want to have a restful weekend ahead.)..
Thanks in advance..

[Updated on: Thu, 17 August 2006 23:28]

Report message to a moderator