Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » Two questions about interviews
Two questions about interviews [message #187320] Sat, 12 August 2006 00:18 Go to next message
kal_youssef

Dear Oracle Tuning experts

im new to oracle tuning and i need to find out the answers to the following questions
your help will be greatly appreciated

1. How to trouble shoot an application performance issue?
(The user calls and tells about deteriorated application
performance, how do you handle it?
mention the steps..)

2. What are the common database problems faced in live/production
environment ?
( User calls, Space problems, network issues.. etc.)
regards
K.
Re: Two questions about interviews [message #187779 is a reply to message #187320] Tue, 15 August 2006 10:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
SQLAREA
Hi,

Since you are new to performance tuning, as a start I recommend to read the tuning guide off the oracle release you have to deal with. Let me forward you the one for 10.2 http://download-uk.oracle.com/docs/cd/B19306_01/server.102/b14211/toc.htm

It does not take a hero to take some Statspack reports ( from 8.1.5 onwards ) or AWR reports ( from 10.1 onwards )
Both give you an overwiew of hundreds of performance statistics. The first page of those reports give you in most cases a representative overview. It will list you the major waits, load profile, cursor sharing stats, ...

In addition often sql trace and tkprof can be used to find some guilty sql ( sql which visits a lot of buffers ) Appropriate Sql Tuning with respect to the optimizer and statistics can be further used to improve performance.

Regards
Guy
Re: Two questions about interviews [message #187788 is a reply to message #187779] Tue, 15 August 2006 11:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
kal_youssef

Dear Guy

Thanks for the quick reply