Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » different performance results in Oracle9i vs. MSSQL Server 2000
different performance results in Oracle9i vs. MSSQL Server 2000 [message #136998] Mon, 12 September 2005 12:40 Go to next message
mitra fatolahi
Hello,

We have performed load test of our java application against both Oracle9i and MSSQL Server 2000 databases. The throughput we got against an Oracle9i environment was less than MSSQL Sever 2000. Both test environment machines were identical with exception of the type of the database.
I have been assigned to look into tuning Oracle9i so we could get at least the same performance as MSSQL Server 2000. My boss believes Oracle should and will perform better if we know how to tune the database. I am new to Oracle and already started reading Oracle9i Database Performance Tuning Guide and Reference. I learned using SQL_TRACE and TKPROF. But so far I have not found any thing in the TKPROF that would explain the performance issue.
What should I be looking for? Do I need to modify any particular parameter in any of the .int files? Any ideas will be appreciated.

Thank you,
Mitra
Re: different performance results in Oracle9i vs. MSSQL Server 2000 [message #137000 is a reply to message #136998] Mon, 12 September 2005 13:00 Go to previous messageGo to next message
smartin
Any reason why you are using the old version of oracle instead of the current one?

Performance tuning is a big topic, probably with regards to any environment. I've found that there are no shortcuts; about the only thing that works is having an understanding of the architecture and concepts of how the environment (database) works.

For that, sounds like you are on the right track in reading the performance tuning guide (10g version is much better than 9i in my opinion). Also the concepts guide is a must read.