Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » CREATE USER -- when - button - pressed
CREATE USER -- when - button - pressed [message #79613] Wed, 26 June 2002 14:50 Go to next message
Tyler
Hello All,

I'm having a bit of an issue with creating a user with a button. I have to have an admin form where a privleged user can create a user. There is a text box for user name and a text box for pwd. Behinde the save button I have this...

BEGIN

IF :GLOBAL.V_MODE = 'ADD' THEN

CREATE USER :USER_NAME;

ELSIF

:PWD IS NOT NULL THEN
CREATE USER :USER_NAME IDENTIFIED BY :PWD;

END IF;

IF :GLOBAL.V_MODE = 'EDIT' THEN

ALTER USER :USER_NAME
IDENTIFIED BY :PWD;

END IF;

:GLOBAL.V_MODE := NULL;
END;

I get an error though as soon as it hits 'create'.

Encountered the symbol CREATE when expecting begin,declare,goto.....

Can you not do this behinde a button, I've never done it before, but I NEED to accomplish this... please help

~T~
Re: CREATE USER -- when - button - pressed [message #79614 is a reply to message #79613] Wed, 26 June 2002 20:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Subhash
Hi,
Use Forms_Ddl for creating and altering
Forms_ddl('CREATE USER '||:USER_NAME||' IDENTIFIED BY '||:PWD);
Forms_Ddl('ALTER USER '||:USER_NAME||
' IDENTIFIED BY '||:PWD);

Regards
Re: CREATE USER -- when - button - pressed [message #79619 is a reply to message #79613] Thu, 27 June 2002 13:04 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Tyler
Hello, thanx for replying... it still doesn't seem to be working... it's not erroring, but not completing what I tell it to do either. Following is my DELETE button (delete role)...

BEGIN

FORMS_DDL('DROP ROLE'||:GROUP_NAME);
--IMPLICIT COMMIT

end;

--this won't drop the role
FIGURED IT OUT [message #79621 is a reply to message #79613] Thu, 27 June 2002 13:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Tyler
Disregard my last post, I realized that there was a space lacking in the drop clause...

thanx much,

T