Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Storing an Image File in Oracle 8i and retrieving onto a Form
Storing an Image File in Oracle 8i and retrieving onto a Form [message #78571] Mon, 04 March 2002 03:02 Go to next message
Stuart Shepherd
I am new to Oracle Forms and need some advice on storing an image (.gif, .jpg, .bmp files) in the database. Ideally I would like to allow the user to save the image into the database via a form and then be able to view the stored images on another form. I need to associate the image with an id from another table.

I have read around on the internet but cannot find much help on this. I could really do with an example of a similar solution to this. I don't mind whether the image itself is stored in the database or just the file name of the image, i just need a simple quick solution.

Can anyone help me on this?

Any help will be much appreciated, I'm desperate!

Regards

Stuart Shepherd
Re: Storing an Image File in Oracle 8i and retrieving onto a Form [message #78574 is a reply to message #78571] Mon, 04 March 2002 03:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
pratap kumar tripathy
1 create table like this
create table imagetest
(image_id number,
image blob);
2.in form create base table block from imagetest
3.the field image should be of type "image"
4.user read_image_file built in to read file to the the fied image and save
5. to read the image from the database , simply execute query on the block
Re: Storing an Image File in Oracle 8i and retrieving onto a Form [message #78576 is a reply to message #78571] Mon, 04 March 2002 03:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Stuart Shepherd
Thanks for a swift response!

How I select the file from windows? Do i not have to enter the filename? Will the form do the insert for me?

Regards

Stuart
Re: Storing an Image File in Oracle 8i and retrieving onto a Form [message #78584 is a reply to message #78576] Mon, 04 March 2002 13:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message