Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Problem multiple forms - missing data
Problem multiple forms - missing data [message #78148] Tue, 22 January 2002 06:23 Go to next message
Gert Verstrepen
Hi, I'm pretty new to Forms, so here's the thing : I have 2 forms, one "logon"-form in which I check if a username and password exist in a table. If this is the case, I open another form with the NEW_FORM command. This works, except that certain data are missing from the called form. Actually, it's not the data that's missing, but the text-boxes don't appear alltogether. Coincidence or not, they are all DATE-types.

However, if I run this second form separately, there is no problem. Everything is displayed correctly. Since the forms have nothing to with each other "data-wise", I don't use any parameters...
Here's the code I'm using :

DECLARE
Alert_Button NUMBER;
UNAME VARCHAR(10);
PWD VARCHAR(10);
CURSOR Users_cur IS SELECT USERNAME, PASSWORD FROM FOLLOWUP_USERS;

BEGIN
OPEN Users_cur;
LOOP
FETCH Users_cur INTO UNAME, PWD;
EXIT WHEN Users_cur%NOTFOUND;
IF (UNAME = :USERNAME) AND (PWD = :PASSWORD) THEN
NEW_FORM('FOLLOWUP_FORM',TO_SAVEPOINT, NO_QUERY_ONLY);
END IF;
END LOOP;
IF Users_cur%NOTFOUND THEN
Alert_Button := Show_Alert('INVALID_LOGON');
END IF;
CLOSE Users_cur;
IF Alert_Button = ALERT_BUTTON1 THEN
Go_ITEM('USERNAME');
ELSIF Alert_Button = ALERT_BUTTON2 THEN
EXIT_FORM(NO_COMMIT, TO_SAVEPOINT);
END IF;
END;

If anyone knows what I'm doing wrong, I'd appreciate you're ideas...

Thanks,
Gert
Re: Problem multiple forms - missing data [message #78155 is a reply to message #78148] Tue, 22 January 2002 11:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
sokeh
Your problem is the cursor. Your cursor loops and returns only the last record on the its list and displays only those.
Since there is one username per user and no dupes are allowed (I am assuming it is the case with you) then use regular select statement like:
SELECT USERNAME, PASSWORD
into :username, :password