Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Effective Date/Min Eff Seq subquery issues (PS Student Administration)
Effective Date/Min Eff Seq subquery issues [message #659560] Sat, 21 January 2017 15:49 Go to next message
Lasmith76
I'm new to query building and trying to write a query to determine the timespan between when an applicant is offered a seat in a program until they make a decision or are withdrawn for inaction. The two dates I need to pull are the last incidence of an ADMT Program Action in the history and the first incidence of a DEFR/DEIN/WADM/WAPP Program Action after that last ADMT row.
Examples:

1)
• ADMT row with eff date of 3/17/2016
• WADM row with eff date of 4/1/2016
• ADMT Row with eff date of 6/20/2016
• DEIN row with eff date of 7/3/2016
• WADM row with eff date of 8/1/2016

Query should pull the ADMT row from 6/20/2016 and DEIN row of 7/3/2016

2)
• ADMT row with eff date of 6/15/2016
• APPL COMP row with eff date on 7/1/2016 (effseq 1)
• DEFR row with eff date on 7/1/2016 (effseq 2)
• WAPP row with eff date on 7/1/2016 (eff seq 3)

Query will pull the ADMT row from 6/15/2016 and DEFR row from 7/1/2016

My query works exactly as I would expect it to for the ADMT rows, but it is returning the last DEFR/DEIN/WADM/WAPP row for those Program Actions. So, for Example 1, it is pulling the WADM row from 8/1/2016 and for Example 2, it is pulling the WAPP row from 7/1/2016.

The functional analyst who has been assisting me instructed me that I needed to create subqueries using min EFFDT and min EFFSEQ values for the DEIN/DEFR/WADM/WAPP program actions after the effective date for the last ADMT row. I have created subqueries that replicate the SQL she gave me, but it is not working. Can someone please tell me what I need to do to make this work? Here is the SQL from my current query: