Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » Long running Query (Windows, Oracle 11g)
Long running Query [message #649083] Fri, 11 March 2016 22:58 Go to next message
narendra_bagur
Hi,

Attaching a long running query and the SQL Plan for the query. I am a java developer and this Oracle query is being called from Java program.
We provided the query and SQL plan to the Database expert for tuning advise.

He is of the opinion that the query is badly written with OR conditions which impact the performance.
His suggestion to rewrite the query in any of the methods

METHOD 1
---------------
1) Create a temporary table
2) Create a Database procedure
3) This procedure should contain multiple queries ---Split the query into multiple queries based on logical and functional conditions so that we can avoid the OR conditions
4) insert the results of these queries into temporary table
5) Execute the procedure and read the result from temporary table from Java

OR

METHOD 2
----------
1) Rewrite the Query to remove the OR conditions completely
2) Use UNION ALL to meet the logical conditions instead of OR operator
3) call the modified query from JAVA.

We cannot use Method 1 from JAVA so we are thinking to use the method 2.

But before taking the advices, wanted to cross check that is the original query really badly written
I have read that there is not much performance improvement with UNION ALL compared to OR condition.

Since I am a Java developer don't have much knowledge on Oracle and how queries work.

Please advise on this Please give your suggestions on the SQL Plan and Query

SQL query and plan in the attachment.

Thanks,
Narendra
Re: Long running Query [message #649087 is a reply to message #649083] Sat, 12 March 2016 01:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson