Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » Barcode (Oracle 8i and Developer 6)
Barcode [message #386056] Thu, 12 February 2009 06:47 Go to next message
mkhalil
Dear Fellow,

I have no knowledge about Barcode. I have search the forum but my problem persist at its own place.

The problem is an issue of Loyalty Cards of a Hotel and Restaurant to various customers and then these cards will be presented by the customers time to time in the Hotel as well as Restaurant. The Owner of the Hotel and Restaurant wants to generate separate barcode for each card and when this card will be presented then the bar code reader will readout the code and the system will calculate the amount of discount/rebate. Because if the data entry operator enter the code of the card through key board the it will be a chance of leakage or misuse of that card.

So what should I do for that. Would any gentelman help me in this regard for providing step wise guidance or any link for tutorial or any written material for that.

Thanks for giving your precious time to read and write.

Muhammad Khalil
Re: Barcode [message #386089 is a reply to message #386056] Thu, 12 February 2009 10:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Basically, you'll need to create a card with pre-printed barcode (I guess this will be a plastic card, something like American Express, Diners, Visa etc.); barcode might represent room number or another number that will uniquely identify a customer. I don't think that you should create a new card for every new customer because - what will you do with "old" cards? Throw them away? I don't think so!

There are plastic card printers on the market (we use one of these for creating cards for our employees; will check exact model name if you are interested).

Barcode is printed with help of one of barcode fonts (we use IDAutomation.com fonts), from printer vendor's software (i.e. no Report Builder is involved).