Home » RDBMS Server » Security » DENY over other rights (Oracle 8)
DENY over other rights [message #351913] Fri, 03 October 2008 12:56 Go to next message
livgonzales

Hello everyone,

Im new to Oracle, been a MS SQL server user most of my working life.

I was asking from the DBA create view rights and I was told I cannot have them because I only have select and it will be cumbersome for him or something.

I am wondering if he can give me create view rights, THEN DENY me insert, update, delete and drop rights on DBA tables.

I wish to create my own table, even temporary ones, my own views, but I should not be given rights that can mess up their database.

Thanks.
Re: DENY over other rights [message #351919 is a reply to message #351913] Fri, 03 October 2008 13:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Quote:
on DBA tables.

Why on DBA tables? You have to justify that.

Quote:
I wish to create my own table, even temporary ones, my own views, but I should not be given rights that can mess up their database.

If it is a development database, why not.
If it is a production database, DBA is right unless you have a business need for that (which I doubt).
Remember that Oracle has not the same temporary tables than MS SQL Server and most often does not need temporary table.

Regards
Michel

[Updated on: Fri, 03 October 2008 13:19]

Report message to a moderator

Re: DENY over other rights [message #351926 is a reply to message #351919] Fri, 03 October 2008 13:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
livgonzales

Hi Michel,

Thank you for answering my question.

It is a production database.

Dba tables meaning, I should only have rights to drop/insert/update my tables that start with say: livg.table1

Can he do that? Can he just deny me the "mess up" rights on the dba tables?