Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » Creating a new condition using an IN predicate (Discoverer 10.1.2.1)
Creating a new condition using an IN predicate [message #324310] Sun, 01 June 2008 23:23 Go to next message
mcgirr
Hi all,

I am new to BI using Discoverer so I hope the following questions I ask are not silly.

What I have done right now is created a new input parameter that maps to an integer column using the IN predicate condition and allowing multiple values.

Lets say the mapped column is user_id, therefore when I run the report I get a prompt where I can enter in 1,2,3 as the input values and the report will display where user_id is equal to 1 2 or 3.

What I am trying to achieve now is to store these multiple values into the database so that it is dynamically driven. So in a table I have a column of type varchar2 where I save this multiple values, e.g 1,2,3
Lets call this column ListOfUsers.

Now here is my problem. When I try to create a new condition where the column user_id appears in the ListOfUsers I get all sorts of problems. e.g. user_id IN ListOfUsers

First problem is a data type problem as it seems like Discoverer is having problems comparing numbers to strings, so in the condition window for the user_id column I cast it to a string by using either to_char or to_string.

This parses now but unfortunately the result set I am expecting comes back as empty now.

Can some one shed some light on how I can achieve this?

Thanks
Jim
Re: Creating a new condition using an IN predicate [message #324339 is a reply to message #324310] Mon, 02 June 2008 01:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
mcgirr
It looks like when I try to create the IN condition using input parameters or if I hard code the condition it would work as the Discoverer would parse the string correctly
e.g. if I entered 1,2,3,4,5 the SQL looks like this
(user_id IN (1,2,3,4,5)) which is spot on