Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » Howto avoid virtual circuit wait as application developer? (11gR2 (11.2.0.3))
Howto avoid virtual circuit wait as application developer? [message #592366] Wed, 07 August 2013 03:10 Go to next message
bet32978
Hello,

I'm an application developer of an automotive company and developing a lot of database-based applications with either oracle forms or c#.
Since we've moved from a 10g rac to 11g using a shared server configuration, the prevailing and overwhelming topic of addm performance analysis is "unusual network wait event" caused by virtual circuit waits. Therefore I cannot use grid control to detect bad sql as I could in 10g anymore, because all "tunable" sql is wiped out by virtual circuit wait.
In top activity, I see virtual circuit wait on every type of statement (select, insert...) and pl/sql execution.

My Question is:
What do I have to do as an application developer to avoid virtual circuit waits?
Especially in C#: we normally use auto committed dml statements and selects to fill either a datatable or generic list with a data reader. Usually we close a connection after each statement, but/and we are using connection pooling. How can such a activity cause virtual circuit waits?
In Oracle Forms: Seems that we have a virtual circuit wait if we show sorted data in a block where not all records are fetched from database. It doesn't make sense to us to rewrite all blocks to always get all records due to performance reasons.

How do I have to write and execute my statements in C#, oracle forms and/or pl/sql to avoid virtual circuit wait?
Re: Howto avoid virtual circuit wait as application developer? [message #592530 is a reply to message #592366] Fri, 09 August 2013 08:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Flyby
Hello, I've found this reference on the web: I just upgraded from 10g to 11g and I now see poor performance. My AWR report looks like this, with high Oracle virtual circuit wait events: