Home » Other » Training & Certification » Newbie question: How long to learn Oracle?
Newbie question: How long to learn Oracle? [message #505123] Fri, 29 April 2011 10:15 Go to next message
Batr
My manager asked me if I can learn Oracle (developer suite) in one week. I don't know SQL too; however, I have some knowledge in creating databases using MS Access.

I know some, very,basic programming skills using C++.

Could you please tell me if it is possible to learn Oracle in 1 week? How much minimum time required to be a basic Oracle user?

My major is Mechanical Engineering. (just in case it will help)

Thanks in advance

[Updated on: Fri, 29 April 2011 10:16]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Newbie question: How long to learn Oracle? [message #505130 is a reply to message #505123] Fri, 29 April 2011 11:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
It depends on what you mean by "learning Oracle".
MS Access is a tool.
Oracle is a real professional high level RDBMS.
Just have a look at the standard Oracle documentation at http://www.oracle.com/pls/db102/portal.portal_db?selected=3

Now define your profile: DBA, Developer, which langague? PL/SQL (mandatory for me)?
As you have C++ knowledge you may be interested at Oracle extensions: Pro*C, OCI, OCCI (in the documentation page above).

Regards
Michel
Re: Newbie question: How long to learn Oracle? [message #505159 is a reply to message #505130] Fri, 29 April 2011 12:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Batr
Thanks so much for the fast reply.

I felt my question was too vague, but I don't know much unfortunately.
I'll go through the documentation and talk with my manager, and I'll get back if I have more questions.

Just to make sure that I got what you said. Do you mean that the oracle extensions: Pro*C, OCI, OCCI will enable me to use C++ as an Oracle language?