Home » RDBMS Server » Server Utilities » Multibyte shift columns (12.1.0.2.0)
Multibyte shift columns [message #670085] Mon, 04 June 2018 06:58 Go to next message
Yiel
Messages: 3
Registered: June 2018
Junior Member
Hi everybody,

Im having a problem while loading a table with SQL Loader because of multibyte chars.

My table is:
CREATE TABLE TEST_UMLAUT 
(COL1	VARCHAR2(99 CHAR),
COL2	VARCHAR2(3 CHAR),
COL3	VARCHAR2(3 CHAR),
COL4	VARCHAR2(3 CHAR),
COL5	VARCHAR2(7 CHAR),
COL6	VARCHAR2(200 CHAR)
);

My controlfile is:
LOAD DATA 
CHARACTERSET AL32UTF8
INFILE '$FICHIER' BADFILE '$BAD'
APPEND
PRESERVE BLANKS
INTO TABLE TEST_UMLAUT
(
COL1 POSITION(1:99) CHAR,
COL2 POSITION(100:102) CHAR,
COL3 POSITION(103:105) CHAR,
COL4 POSITION(106:108) CHAR,
COL5 POSITION(109:115) CHAR
)

And my data line (7 spaces after the last I) is:
AAAAÖABCDEFGHIÖJKLMNABCDEFGHI

My result should be:
COL1=AAAAÖABCDEFGHIÖJKLMN
COL2=ABC
COL3=DEF
COL4=GHI
COL5= (7 spaces)

But i get:
COL1=AAAAÖABCDEFGHIÖJKL
COL2=MNA
COL3=BCD
COL4=EFG
COL5=HI (with 5 spaces at the end).

Can someone help me to get expected result?

Regards
Yiel
Re: Multibyte shift columns [message #670087 is a reply to message #670085] Mon, 04 June 2018 08:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 68624
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator

https://docs.oracle.com/database/121/SUTIL/GUID-269CE049-91ED-41FD-A3A3-D471009E918D.htm#SUTIL1144

POSITION indicates the position in BYTES and can't be used in your case with your character set.
Use an external table (or a stage table) with a single column and then load the target table from it using SUBSTR.

[Edit: missing word]

[Updated on: Mon, 04 June 2018 11:40]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Multibyte shift columns [message #670088 is a reply to message #670087] Mon, 04 June 2018 09:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Yiel
Messages: 3
Registered: June 2018
Junior Member
Thanks for the fast reply Michel, im gonna try to use external tables

Regards
Yiel
Re: Multibyte shift columns [message #670105 is a reply to message #670088] Wed, 06 June 2018 04:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gazzag
Messages: 1118
Registered: November 2010
Location: Bedwas, UK
Senior Member
I suspect that you will have the same problem as the technology is the same. Let us know how you get on!
Re: Multibyte shift columns [message #670106 is a reply to message #670105] Wed, 06 June 2018 05:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 68624
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator

Not if the external/stage table has a single column and SUBSTR on it is used to fill the target columns as suggested.

Re: Multibyte shift columns [message #670110 is a reply to message #670106] Wed, 06 June 2018 07:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gazzag
Messages: 1118
Registered: November 2010
Location: Bedwas, UK
Senior Member
My apologies, Michel. I failed to read your post properly.
Re: Multibyte shift columns [message #670112 is a reply to message #670110] Wed, 06 June 2018 08:56 Go to previous message
Yiel
Messages: 3
Registered: June 2018
Junior Member
Thanks for the help guys,

I used finally a stage table with 1 column and it works fine, but the client didnt want to change all the flows we have (10 flows with more than 200 columns each) so finally the client accepted to convert the source file with sed so we wont find multibyte chars in the final flat file.

Regards
Yiel

[Updated on: Wed, 06 June 2018 08:57]

Report message to a moderator

Previous Topic: External Table
Next Topic: SQLLDR Error : Field in data file exceeds maximum length
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Thu Mar 28 11:03:52 CDT 2024