Home » Server Options » Text & interMedia » Problem in querying using Contains Operator
Problem in querying using Contains Operator [message #75994] Tue, 22 October 2002 04:35 Go to next message
Venkat
Messages: 110
Registered: February 2001
Senior Member
I want to perform search operation on a particlar field using the CONTAINS operator. The details are as shown below.

I have a table Product which has some pre-populated data. When i execute a query say

select Product.ProductId from Product where Contains( Product.ProductId , '{BTMTRAY-M40-S}' ,2) >0;

I get the correct result.

Now i insert a new value "TEST" for productId into the same table. Now when i try to execute the same query
as

select Product.ProductId from Product where Contains( Product.ProductId , '{TEST}' ,2) >0;

I dont get any result. Why is it so.
Re: Problem in querying using Contains Operator [message #76002 is a reply to message #75994] Wed, 27 November 2002 00:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ravibabu
Messages: 12
Registered: July 2001
Junior Member
you have to rebuild your index.whenever if you add data to table wchich contains an index, you have to rebuild your index.
Re: Problem in querying using Contains Operator [message #76006 is a reply to message #75994] Fri, 13 December 2002 03:52 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dave P
Messages: 1
Registered: December 2002
Junior Member
If you start the context server in the background then you wont need to worry about manually updating the indexes...

Check the Oracle documentation for the ctxsrv command syntax.
Re: Problem in querying using Contains Operator [message #76057 is a reply to message #75994] Wed, 02 July 2003 10:21 Go to previous message
Lia
Messages: 3
Registered: July 2003
Junior Member
begin
ctx_ddl.sync_index('put_index_name_here');
end;
Previous Topic: InterMedia vs. TNS Listener
Next Topic: fee strucutre
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Thu Mar 28 16:08:30 CDT 2024