Home » Server Options » Replication » Replication to use
Replication to use [message #676333] Sun, 02 June 2019 09:34 Go to next message
Manishkumar
Messages: 36
Registered: May 2019
Member
Hi,

Which replication strategy to be use for a 64 kbps link?

Thanks,
Manish
Re: Replication to use [message #676335 is a reply to message #676333] Sun, 02 June 2019 10:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 66728
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator

What is the solution/final answer to your topic last week?

Re: Replication to use [message #676340 is a reply to message #676335] Sun, 02 June 2019 10:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Manishkumar
Messages: 36
Registered: May 2019
Member
didn't get final answer
Re: Replication to use [message #676341 is a reply to message #676333] Sun, 02 June 2019 11:24 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 66728
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
Manishkumar wrote on Sun, 02 June 2019 16:34
Hi,

Which replication strategy to be use for a 64 kbps link?

Thanks,
Manish
What is your database version?

Michel Cadot wrote on Tue, 21 May 2019 18:43

It depends on:
1/ Your TCP/IP stack configuration
2/ Your sqlnet.ora configuration
3/ Your databases activity (how many updates and how large they are)
Re: Replication to use [message #676342 is a reply to message #676340] Sun, 02 June 2019 11:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 66728
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator

Manishkumar wrote on Sun, 02 June 2019 17:50
didn't get final answer

And we can't give any one unless your answer the points I mentioned.

And the most important thing is to answer to BlackSwan's question:

BlackSwan wrote on Wed, 22 May 2019 18:09
...
What will you do differently after you know max packet size & how many packets go?

[Updated on: Sun, 02 June 2019 11:26]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Replication to use [message #676344 is a reply to message #676333] Mon, 03 June 2019 01:05 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Messages: 8085
Registered: January 2010
Location: Global Village
Senior Member
Manishkumar wrote on Sun, 02 June 2019 15:34
Hi,

Which replication strategy to be use for a 64 kbps link?

Thanks,
Manish
As Advanced Replication no longer exists in the current release and Streams Replication is deprecated, your options are limited. Better evaluate the requirement again.
Re: Replication to use [message #676345 is a reply to message #676344] Mon, 03 June 2019 01:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 66728
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator

From his previous post, he is using version 11.1.

Re: Replication to use [message #676363 is a reply to message #676342] Wed, 05 June 2019 03:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Manishkumar
Messages: 36
Registered: May 2019
Member
I am using oracle 11.1, and rest configuration i am not aware i am using default settings of oracle. With 64 kbps link which replication to use and why?
Re: Replication to use [message #676364 is a reply to message #676342] Wed, 05 June 2019 03:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Manishkumar
Messages: 36
Registered: May 2019
Member

For BlackSwan question it is required as i want to know how much bandwidth it will use?
Re: Replication to use [message #676365 is a reply to message #676363] Wed, 05 June 2019 03:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Messages: 8085
Registered: January 2010
Location: Global Village
Senior Member
Manishkumar wrote on Wed, 05 June 2019 09:50
I am using oracle 11.1, and rest configuration i am not aware i am using default settings of oracle. With 64 kbps link which replication to use and why?
What is the relevance of the bandwidth of the link?

I would think your choice is any or all of:

Advanced Replications
Materialized view replication
Streams
GoldenGate
Data Guard logical or physical standby
Something you write yourself (triggers, queues, distributed transactions...)

Your choice will be informed by the business requirement, database release, and licensing.
Re: Replication to use [message #676366 is a reply to message #676364] Wed, 05 June 2019 03:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 66728
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator

To answer how much bandwidth it will use you have to answer to my question: what is your database activity?

Re: Replication to use [message #676367 is a reply to message #676365] Wed, 05 June 2019 05:28 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Manishkumar
Messages: 36
Registered: May 2019
Member
Can you guide how to use advanced replication as stopping it is a cumbersome process. with 400 entries in a table the deferred transaction reached to 2 crore entries which i don't get why and then it is difficult to transfer such huge data.
Re: Replication to use [message #676368 is a reply to message #676366] Wed, 05 June 2019 05:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Manishkumar
Messages: 36
Registered: May 2019
Member
My activity is to transfer data i.e. modification of table data should reflect other side but with 400 entries deferred transaction reach to 2 crore in 64 kbps link and then if i want to stop replication it is not stopping. What to do? So i want to know actually how much bandwidth it is using? In case of stream replication problem is that if a system fails and we keep a new system with same ip then we need to remove configuration first and then redo for new system which is time consuming task. I am using RHEL 5.4 is there any tool which will do it fast and tell bandwidth requirement.
Re: Replication to use [message #676369 is a reply to message #676368] Wed, 05 June 2019 06:02 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Messages: 8085
Registered: January 2010
Location: Global Village
Senior Member
It is becoming clear: you are using Advanced Replication, and because your network link is so slow there are many transactions in the queue. As for how many, please note that "crore" is not an SI unit. I assume it is something big?

I would not think that any alternative replication method would be significantly faster or slower: they all have to get the data over one way or another. Your network admin people will be able to tell you what bandwidth you are using. Probably all of it.


Re: Replication to use [message #676371 is a reply to message #676369] Wed, 05 June 2019 06:41 Go to previous message
Manishkumar
Messages: 36
Registered: May 2019
Member
I tried with advanced replication but getting 2 million entries for just 400 entries in table. Network admin will tell available bandwidth but what about bandwidth requirement of replication. So my query is will stream replication will work better.
Previous Topic: how to clear deferred queue
Next Topic: Stream replication
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Fri Dec 13 22:19:59 CST 2019