Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Unable to grant Admin privileges on SQL Developer 12c (Oracle SQL Developer 12c)
icon5.gif  Unable to grant Admin privileges on SQL Developer 12c [message #666757] Fri, 24 November 2017 01:26 Go to next message
Dave0001
Hi All,

Newbie here. Installed SQL Developer 12c on Windows 10. Having trouble giving myself admin privileges to CREATE, UPDATE and DELETE tables. Can you please help? Have tried a few things at random found online but have not been able to get past this hurdle. Appreciate your help.

Regards
Re: Unable to grant Admin privileges on SQL Developer 12c [message #666758 is a reply to message #666757] Fri, 24 November 2017 01:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
To grant CREATE TABLE to yourself you must something like DBA (actually have the GRANT ANY PRIVILEGE privilege), so ask a DBA to grant it to you.
You need no privileges to UPDATE or DELETE your own tables as you are the owner and have all privileges on your objects.

See GRANT in SQL Reference book.

[Updated on: Fri, 24 November 2017 01:33]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Unable to grant Admin privileges on SQL Developer 12c [message #666759 is a reply to message #666758] Fri, 24 November 2017 01:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dave0001
Thanks Michel.

This is at home. I am able to login using sysdba on the backend thu cmd but that hasnt helped. Any alternatives?
Re: Unable to grant Admin privileges on SQL Developer 12c [message #666760 is a reply to message #666759] Fri, 24 November 2017 01:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
What do you call "myself"? You should create a user and grant certain privileges so that you could connect to it and, actually, do something. Here's how: connect as a privileged user (SYS) and check which tablespace(s) you have, and then use them in CREATE USER script:
SELECT tablespace_name FROM dba_tablespaces;