Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » block_change_tracking change (Oracle 10g)
block_change_tracking change [message #581233] Wed, 03 April 2013 12:35 Go to next message
gatetec
Messages: 38
Registered: December 2012
Member
SELECT filename, status, bytes
FROM v$block_change_tracking;

DISABLED


If we turn on block_change_tracking with RMAN, will it require a downtime?
Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581237 is a reply to message #581233] Wed, 03 April 2013 12:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
Messages: 26766
Registered: January 2009
Location: SoCal
Senior Member
when all else fails, Read The Fine Manual

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/B28359_01/backup.111/b28270/rcmbckba.htm#BRADV89538

Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581238 is a reply to message #581233] Wed, 03 April 2013 12:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 68625
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
No.

Regards
Michel
Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581251 is a reply to message #581238] Wed, 03 April 2013 13:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gatetec
Messages: 38
Registered: December 2012
Member
SQL> show parameter large_pool;

NAME                                 TYPE        VALUE
------------------------------------ ----------- ------------------------------
large_pool_size                      big integer 0


The large_pool needs to be changed. In this case, it will require a downtime, correct?
Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581253 is a reply to message #581251] Wed, 03 April 2013 13:45 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 68625
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
Why large pool has to be changed?
In addition, why do you still size this parameter and do not use automatic memory management (sga_target)?

Regards
Michel
Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581255 is a reply to message #581253] Wed, 03 April 2013 13:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 68625
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
In the end, if you don't want to read the documentation to know if the parameter can be dynamically change you can query the database:
SQL> select ISSYS_MODIFIABLE from v$parameter where name='large_pool_size';
ISSYS_MOD
---------
IMMEDIATE

Regards
Michel
Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581260 is a reply to message #581255] Wed, 03 April 2013 13:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gatetec
Messages: 38
Registered: December 2012
Member
SQL> select ISSYS_MODIFIABLE from v$parameter where name='large_pool_size';

ISSYS_MOD
---------
IMMEDIATE



I have set it as IMMEDIATE.

then,
alter system set large_pool_size=128M scope=spfile
would not require a reboot of instance to take effect?
Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581263 is a reply to message #581260] Wed, 03 April 2013 14:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 68625
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
Quote:
I have set it as IMMEDIATE.


No you have not, you can't, this is a hard-coded value which indicates what you can do with the parameter in ALTER SYSTEM command.

Quote:
ould not require a reboot of instance to take effect?


What does the documentation say when the value returned by the previous query is immediate?

Regards
Michel

[Updated on: Wed, 03 April 2013 14:21]

Report message to a moderator

Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581264 is a reply to message #581263] Wed, 03 April 2013 14:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gatetec
Messages: 38
Registered: December 2012
Member
issys_modifiable = IMMEDIATE/DEFERRED/FALSE indicates if the value can be modified by alter system command. Values represents when the changes takes effect. For immediate, no matter what you use (spfile or init file ) parameter change takes effect immediately.For deferred, parameter can be changed but change takes affect in subsequent sessions not for currently established sessions. For false it means parameter cannot be changed if you dont have a spfile.


That is why I got confused...! It seems it doesn't require the instance reboot, but another instruction says a reboot after
alter system set large_pool_size=128M scope=spfile
Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581269 is a reply to message #581264] Thu, 04 April 2013 00:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 68625
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
Quote:
but another instruction says a reboot after


Which one?

Regards
Michel
Re: block_change_tracking change [message #581309 is a reply to message #581269] Thu, 04 April 2013 06:45 Go to previous message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 68625
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
Quote:
scope=spfile


I have the answer, if you modify in spfile ONLY then a reboot is needed.
If you want this to be taken immediately then use scope=MEMORY or scope=BOTH.

Regards
Michel
Previous Topic: UNDO Tablespace deleted from OS level
Next Topic: RMAN Incremental Backup & Import
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Thu Mar 28 19:43:15 CDT 2024