Home » Server Options » Data Guard » failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs
failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs [message #308566] Mon, 24 March 2008 22:08 Go to next message
NIckman
Messages: 64
Registered: May 2007
Member
Hi
i have data guard and oracle 9i.I have 2 servers.
primary and secondary.i want to know what steps perform when primary server fails. both severs are unix os.
pl let me know if i miss any step.

DGMGRL> connect sys/oracle@to_secondary
primary server is not avaiable. so, i logged on seconday stand by server.
it is in max protection mode.
i think i need connected to secondary sever.(because priamry server failed)
DGMGRL>show configuration
i think it says secondary server is stand by mode.
primary unknown.(it failed)

DGMGRL>FAILOVER TO STANDBY GRACEFUL;

if thE above command is is not success, i will use forced
may be i will get some data loss.
DGMGRL>FAILOVER TO STANDBY FORCED;

DGMGRL>show configuration
it shows now stand by DB is primary DB after failover command.

do i need to perform any other steps or command.
i think i do not need use any restart or shutdown commands.
i think, when i use failover command, i think it automatically
restart the database.
then i will change tns names to standby server.

afte that NOW stand by server act as PRIMARY server.am i right?
pl tell me any thing i missing.
thx,N.






Re: failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs [message #309786 is a reply to message #308566] Fri, 28 March 2008 15:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
NIckman
Messages: 64
Registered: May 2007
Member
hi

i found this info.
when failover occurs on primary DB,
you will connected to seconday standby server
issue these 4 commands down bellow will complete whole failover procedure.
both DB are in max protection mode


Quote:
DGMGRL> failover to 'secondary DB name' graceful
show configuration
show site
show resource

and change tns names to secondary server.

i am seeing on various manules,
you need to change first to max perforamce mode and need to verify logs also and copy logs to stand by and need to restart DB and mount the data bases. do we need to do all these things or data gurad will take everyting.
thx,n.
Re: failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs [message #311490 is a reply to message #309786] Fri, 04 April 2008 11:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
DreamzZ
Messages: 1666
Registered: May 2007
Location: Dreamzland
Senior Member

But before issuing this command you have to setup you data broker!!!



DATA GUARD BROKER


The Data Guard broker is a distributed management framework that automates and centralizes the creation, maintenance, and monitoring of Data Guard configurations. You can use either the Oracle Enterprise Manager graphical user interface (GUI) or command-line interface (CLI) to automate and simplify:

• Creating and enabling Data Guard configurations, including setting up log transport services and log apply services.

• Managing an entire Data Guard configuration from any system in the configuration.

• Managing and monitoring Data Guard configurations that contain Real Application Clusters primary or standby databases.


BROKER CONFIGURATION:

On both Primary and Standby sites, change the initialization parameter in the spfile to enable the Data guard broker.
•	SQL> Alter system set dg_broker_start=True scope=both;


System Altered.

On the PRIMARY site, open the ‘cmd’ and start Command Line Interface (CLI) of the Dataguard Broker (DGMGRL).

C:\> dgmgrl

DGMGRL for 32-bit Windows: Version 10.2.0.1.0 - Production

Copyright (c) 2000, 2005, Oracle. All rights reserved.


Welcome to DGMGRL, type "help" for information.

DGMGRL>_

Now connect to the database through the service you made previously.

DGMGRL> connect sys/oracle@to_primary
Connected.



Create broker configuration.

DGMGRL> create configuration ‘broker1’ as
> primary database is ‘primary’
> connect identifier is primary;[/code]

(‘primary’ in Connect identifier is the service name through which the broker is connected to the PRIMARY database)

Add Standby Database to the above configuration.

DGMGRL> Add database ‘standby’ as
> connect identifier is to_standby
> maintained as physical;
(‘to_standby’ in Connect identifier is the service name through which the broker is connected to the STANDBY database)

Now the configuration has been set up but it is still disabled. You can view the configuration by executing:

DGMGRL> show configuration

Configuration
  Name:                	broker1
  Enabled:             	NO
  Protection Mode:     	MaxPerformance
  Fast-Start Failover: 	DISABLE
  Databases:
    primary - Physical standby database
    standby - Primary database

Current status for "broker1":
DISABLE

The next step is to ENABLE the configuration ‘broker1’.

DGMGRL> enable configuration;
Enabled


Again view the configuration.

DGMGRL> show configuration

Configuration
  Name:                	broker1
  Enabled:             	YES
  Protection Mode:     	MaxPerformance
  Fast-Start Failover: 	DISABLE
  Databases:
    primary - Physical standby database
    standby - Primary database


Current status for "broker1":
SUCCESS

Switchover:

Now we are ready to switch over the PRIMARY database Role to STANDBY database Role.

DGMGRL> switchover to ‘Standby’;

…..
…..
Primary Database Successfully converted to Physical Standby.

You can again switch over the Standby Database to Primary by executing following command.

DGMGRL> switchover to ‘Primary’;

…..
…..
Standby Database is successfully converted to Primary Database.

Failover:

Failover can be done through the same configuration without any alteration. You simply need to execute following command:

DGMGRL> failover to ‘Standby’;

….
Failover to standby succeeded.

And also…

DGMGRL> failover to ‘Primary’;

….
Failover to primary succeeded.

[Updated on: Fri, 04 April 2008 11:25]

Report message to a moderator

Re: failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs [message #311574 is a reply to message #311490] Fri, 04 April 2008 17:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
NIckman
Messages: 64
Registered: May 2007
Member
Thanks for your reply and info.
N.
Re: failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs [message #313455 is a reply to message #311574] Sat, 12 April 2008 09:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
NIckman
Messages: 64
Registered: May 2007
Member
Hi
If dataguard fails to work,
how to perform failover thorugh sql commands.pl speficy.
thanks,N.
Re: failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs [message #313463 is a reply to message #313455] Sat, 12 April 2008 11:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ebrian
Messages: 2794
Registered: April 2006
Senior Member
Manual Failover Operations.
Re: failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs [message #324224 is a reply to message #313463] Sat, 31 May 2008 14:11 Go to previous messageGo to next message
NIckman
Messages: 64
Registered: May 2007
Member
Hi
server1 is primary
server2 is stand by.
server1 fails
I need to do failover to server2
after logging on server2 dataguard.
Quote:

DGMGRL> failover to ‘server2’;

do I need to copy tnsnames to successfully complete failover procedure.pl let me know.

$cp tnsnames.ora.server2 tnsnames.ora


thx,N.

Re: failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs [message #328471 is a reply to message #324224] Fri, 20 June 2008 05:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ranvijaidba
Messages: 71
Registered: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Member
Database version:10.2.0.1.0

I sucessfully created the broker and also added the standby database but when i am passing this command it is showing error

DGMGRL> show configuration
Configuration
Name: broker1
Enabled: YES
Protection Mode: MaxPerformance
Fast-Start Failover: DISABLED
Databases:
primary - Primary database
phstandby - Physical standby database

Current status for "broker1":
Warning: ORA-16607: one or more databases have failed


DGMGRL> show database phstandby

Database
Name: phstandby
Role: PHYSICAL STANDBY
Enabled: YES
Intended State: ONLINE
Instance(s):
phstandby

Current status for "phstandby":
Error: ORA-12541: TNS:no listener

But listener is running and i am able to connect.Please suggest me what i have to do.

Re: failover steps when primary DB server problem occurs [message #328565 is a reply to message #308566] Fri, 20 June 2008 08:39 Go to previous message
BlackSwan
Messages: 26766
Registered: January 2009
Location: SoCal
Senior Member
ranvijaidba,
why did you hijack this thread & not start a new one of your own?

http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/88153/0/
Please read & follow Posting Guidelines as stated in URL above

>But listener is running and i am able to connect
Prove it.
Previous Topic: dataguard
Next Topic: standby not open in read only mode
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Thu Mar 28 13:35:17 CDT 2024